About copy-usLayout DaamsLayout PrintLayout SR
logo copy-us
[works] [composers] [musicians] [newsletter] [competitions] [about copy-us] [German]
[arrangements] [shop] [press release] [events] [contact us] [links] [English]

Johann Sebastian Bach

Works at copy-us


Johann Sebastian Bach (March 25, 1685 [Eisenach] - July 28, 1750 [Leipzig]) was a German Baroque composer. He was one of the greatest composers of all time, but during his lifetime, he was little-known.

Bach spent his entire life there, working as an organist, teacher, and composer. He had over 20 children, including four who became famous musicians in their own right, including Carl Philipp Emanuel, Wilhelm Friedemann, Johann Christoph Friedrich, and Johann Christian.

Bach's early career involved playing the violin and organ at a low-level position in the ruling court in Weimar and in Neukirche, Arnstadt, beginning in 1703. In 1708, Bach was appointed organist and chamber musician to the Duke of Saxe-Weimar. During the next nine years Bach composed many of his finest organ compositions, and became known as a fine organist. In 1717, Bach became Kapellmeister (the "chapel master") in the court of the music-lover Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Cothen.

Bach left Anhalt-Cothen in 1723 for Leipzig. He became Kantor (teacher and director of music) of St. Thomas's in Leipzig. Bach remained in Leipzig for the rest of his life. During this period, Bach's major works included St. John Passion (1723), St. Matthew Passion (1727), Magnificat (1731), Christmas Oratorio (1734), Italian Concerto (1735), Goldberg Variations (1741-1742), The Well-Tempered Clavier (second book, 1742), the Musical Offering (1747), and The Art of the Fugue (unfinished, 1749).


[Johann Sebastian Bach: Works for Organ, played by Michael Murray]
Works for organ

[Johann Sebastian Bach: Motets; Herrenweghe; Collegium Vocale Gent; La Chapelle Royale]
Works for organ

Works by J.S. Bach at musicnotes.com

Fehler: database error 1054: Unknown column 'Werk.Arrangeur_ID' in 'on clause'

Fehler in Komponist::seite_komponist_detail (1): Unfortunately the works of this composer can't be requested.